The Maine Public Broadcasting Network
Maine Public Radio
Maine Public Classical
Democrats Name Maine Apportionment Commission Team
12/13/2012 04:20 PM ET  

The Democratic appointees will join their Republican counterparts in reviewing and redrawing the state's legislative district lines, as required every 10 years under Maine's Constitution.

AUGUSTA, Maine (AP) _ Maine Democrats have named their party's representatives on the committee that will review and redraw legislative district lines.

The state law requires district maps to be updated every 10 years based on census changes.

The Democratic appointees announced Thursday by the presiding officers of the House and Senate include Sens. Troy Jackson of Allagash and Emily Cain of Orono, and Reps. Jeff McCabe of Skowhegan, Mark Dion of Portland and Joan Welsh of Rockport.

The public member appointed by the Democrats is Cathy Newell of Oxford County, who served on the congressional apportionment commission in 2011. Maine Democratic Chairman Ben Grant also will serve on the commission. A final member to be agreed to by both parties has yet to be named.

The Republicans appointed their members earlier this week.


Become a Fan of the NEW MPBNNews Facebook page. Get news, updates and unique content to share and discuss:

Recommended by our audience on Facebook:
Copyright © 2016 Maine Public Broadcasting Network. All rights reserved.