The Maine Public Broadcasting Network
Maine Public Radio
Maine Public Classical
Maine's Electoral College Meets
12/17/2012 9:03 AM ET  

The electors will meet this afternoon in the Maine House of Representatives Chamber to formally cast their ballots in the presidential election.

AUGUSTA, Maine (AP) _ Maine's four Electoral College members will cast their ballots to formalize the November presidential election won by Democratic incumbent Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden.

The electors will meet Monday afternoon in the Maine House of Representatives Chamber.

Secretary of State Charlie Summers will convene the Electoral College. The ceremony will be covered online at .

This year's Presidential Electors in Maine are Diane Denk of Kennebunk representing that 1st Congressional District, 2nd District elector Marianne Stevens of Kingfield, and at-large electors Craig Hickman of Winthrop and Jill Duson of Portland.

Electors of all 50 states and the District of Columbia will convene Monday in their respective states to cast their ballots. A majority of the 538 electoral votes is required to become president.


Become a Fan of the NEW MPBNNews Facebook page. Get news, updates and unique content to share and discuss:

Recommended by our audience on Facebook:
Copyright © 2016 Maine Public Broadcasting Network. All rights reserved.