The Maine Public Broadcasting Network
Facebook Twitter NPR PBS BBC CBC
Listen Live
Classical 24
Morning Classical Music

Morning Classical Music with host Rodney Flora

Thursday August 29, 2013


 Frédéric Chopin:  Nocturne in F-sharp major Op. 15 No. 2

Maurizio Pollini, piano

DGG  477 5718                                                                                                        (3:09)


George Frideric Handel:  Concerto Grosso in D major, Op. 3 No. 6

Handel and Haydn Society (Boston), Christopher Hogwood, cond.

Avie  AV 2065                                                                                                           (6:50)


Ignaz Pleyel:  String Quartet in B-flat major, Op. 2 No. 5

Enso Quartet

Naxos  8.557497                                                                                                      (18:06)


Claudio Monteverdi:  Vespers for the Blessed Virgin 1610 (arr. Frankenpohl for triple brass quintet)

Canadian Brass, Principal brass of the New York Philharmonic, Principal brass of the Boston Symphony Orchestra

CBS MK 44931                                                                                                        (18:30)


Mikhail Glinka:  Grand Sextet in E-flat major for Piano, String Quartet, and Double Bass


Hyperion CDA66163                                                                                               (25:00)


Frédéric d'Erlanger:  Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 17

Philippe Graffin, violin, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, David Lloyd-Jones, cond.

Hyperion CDA67838                                                                                               (30:22)


John Jenkins:  Fantasy No. 1 in C minor


Avie AV2099                                                                                                 (4:48)


John Stanley:  Trumpet Tune

London Gabrieli Brass Ensemble

MHS                                                                                                                           (2:58)


Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky:  Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13 "Winter Daydreams"

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Andrew Litton, cond.

Virgin Classics ZDMC 7 59699 2                                                              (45:05)

Export to Desktop Event:  Single  


What's on Now

MPBN Podcasts icon

Founded by the University of Maine System and Colby, Bates and Bowdoin Colleges.

Copyright © 2014 Maine Public Broadcasting Network. All rights reserved.