The Maine Public Broadcasting Network
Facebook Twitter NPR PBS BBC CBC
Listen Live
Classical 24
Morning Classical Music

Morning Classical Music with host Rodney Flora

Friday, November 1, 2013



Frederic Chopin:  Nocturne No. 9 in B major, Op. 32 No. 1

Maurizio Pollini, piano

DGG 00289 477 5718                                                                         (4:09)


John Marsh:  Symphony No. 7 in E-flat major (La Chasse 1790)

London Mozart Players, Matthias Bamert, cond.

Chandos CHAN 10458                                                                       (10:04)


Tomaso Albinoni:  Concerto for 2 Oboes in C major, Op. 7 No. 5

Anthony Camden, Alison Alty, oboes, The London Virtuosi, John Georgiadis, cond.

Naxos 8.553035                                                                                  (8:20)


Daniel Purcell:  Harpsichord Suite in D minor/major

David Pollock, harpsichord

Chandos CHAN 0795                                                                         (7:19)


Leopold Hofmann:  Sinfonia in B-flat major (Badley B-flat 1)

Northern Chamber Orchestra, Nicholas Ward, cond.

Naxos 8.553866                                                                                  (11:00)


Sir Edward Elgar:  Chanson de Matin & Chanson de Nuit, Op. 15

New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, James Judd, cond.

Naxos 8.557577                                                                                  (8:10)


George Frideric Handel: Concerto a Due Cori No. 2 in F major, HWV 333

Tafelmusik, Jeanne Lamon, cond.

Sony SK 63073                                                                                   (16:00)


Robert Schumann:  Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54

Leif Ove Andsnes, piano, Berlin Philharmonic, Mariss Jansons, cond.

EMI 5 57486 2                                                                                   (29:53)


Alice Mary Smith:  Andante for Clarinet and Orchestra

Angela Malsbury, clarinet, London Mozart Players, Howard Shelley, cond.

Chandos CHAN 10283                                                                       (7:07)


Antonin Dvorak:  Symphony No. 6 in D major, Op. 60

The Cleveland Orchestra, Christoph von Dohnanyi, cond.

London D 108227                                                                               (41:50)

Export to Desktop Event:  Single  


What's on Now

MPBN Podcasts icon

Founded by the University of Maine System and Colby, Bates and Bowdoin Colleges.

Copyright © 2014 Maine Public Broadcasting Network. All rights reserved.