The Maine Public Broadcasting Network
Facebook Twitter NPR PBS BBC CBC
Listen Live
Classical 24
Search

Enjoy Special Tax Benefits When You Donate Appreciated Securities to MPBN

There are distinct income tax advantages of giving securities over cash, and the benefits are twofold: you will receive a deduction for the fair market value of the stock (up to 30% of your adjusted gross income), and capital gains taxes do not apply. And with the 2013 capital gains tax rate at their highest since 1997, charitable gifts of appreciated securities make sense now more than ever.

Outright gifts of appreciated securities (stocks, bonds, mutual fund shares) to MPBN are tax deductible at full fair-market value if they are long-term in nature (owned for more than 12 months). To avoid capital gains taxes, you must donate the actual securities, not the proceeds of their sale. You can completely avoid capital gain tax that you would owe on the difference between the cost basis and the price at which the asset is sold.

To take advantage of this tax-wise way to support MPBN, please contact your broker with the following information:

DTC Eligible Securities:     
Participant ID (DTC #):                             2039
Bangor Savings Bank A/C # DTC:             11222
Client Name:                                             Maine Public Broadcasting
Client A/C#:                                              669- #140010

ATTENTION DONORS: Please request that your broker/bank notify Beverly Veilleux at Bangor Savings Bank prior to initiating a stock transfer to ensure that the transaction is promptly recorded. Beverly can be reached at (207) 974-4184 or Beverly.Veilleux@bangor.com.


For more information, please contact:

Jennifer Foley
VP of Development
207-330-4510
jfoley@mpbn.net


This information is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as tax or legal advice. MPBN does not offer financial advice. We recommend reviewing any gift plan with your personal advisors.

 

 

 

 

 

For more information, on our Major Gifts Programs please contact us:

 

Erin Merrill Jim Wilkins Heide Lester Kate Phenix Louise Woodbury

Director of Major Gifts

Major Gifts Officer

Major Gifts Coordinator

Development &
Communication Associate

Development Assistant

207-330-4550

207-330-4530

207-330-4519

207-330-4600

207-330-4603

emerrill@mpbn.net

jwilkins@mpbn.net

hlester@mpbn.net

kphenix@mpbn.net

lwoodbury@mpbn.net

 

Founded by the University of Maine System and Colby, Bates and Bowdoin Colleges.

Copyright © 2014 Maine Public Broadcasting Network. All rights reserved.